BMW International Open 2019. Ryder Cup heroes García and Olesen, three-time PGA TOUR winner Jhonattan Vegas and Germany‘s Cejka, Jäger and Kieffer battle for the title.

  • The most successful Ryder Cup player of all time, Sergio
    García (ESP), and his European team-mate Thorbjørn Olesen (DEN)
    will tee off at Golfclub München Eichenried between
    19th and 23rd June 2019.
  • Jhonattan Vegas from Venezuela will make his debut at the
    BMW International Open.
  • Alex Cejka and Munich native Stephan Jäger will take a break
    from the PGA TOUR to be in Munich.
  • Martin Kaymer, Max Kieffer, Marcel Siem, Bernd Ritthammer
    and Florian Fritsch will also be representing the German colours.
  • “Bavarian Bonus” on the bank holiday Corpus Christi
    (Thursday 20th June): Visitors wearing either a Dirndl or
    Lederhosen will receive free entry.

Munich. Together with Team Europe they didn’t give Team USA a
chance in the Ryder Cup in September last year, now they will tee
off at the BMW International Open in Munich: Sergio García and
Thorbjørn Olesen. Martin Kaymer and reigning champion Matt Wallace
(ENG) had already announced their involvement. In addition, the
German viewers can look forward to PGA TOUR pro Jhonattan Vegas and
a strong local player pool.

During the convincing Ryder Cup Team Europe victory in Paris last
September, García made sure his name went down in golfing history. In
for matches, the man from Spain got three wins, thereby pushing his
overall score up to 25.5 in nine appearances. No other player has
picked up more points in the long history of the legendary team
competition, the previous record holder was Sir Nick Faldo (ENG) with
25 points from eleven appearances.

“I can’t wait to return to one of my favourite cities in the world,”
said the 2017 Masters champion. “I’m looking forward to the fans in
Munich and to the tournament.”

Two years ago, when the BMW International Open was last held in
Munich, García finished only one shot behind winner Andrés Romero
(ARG). Thorbjørn Olesen missed out on the title just as narrowly in
Cologne in 2018. The Dane played the lowest round ever in the
tournament’s 30-year history, with 61 shots, but – level with Kaymer –
was defeated by Matt Wallace. As a rookie, the “Thunderbear”
contributed a clear 54 win in the singles against Jordan Spieth
(USA) to the European team’s Ryder Cup victory.

Three-time PGA TOUR winner Jhonattan Vegas, who was beaten only by
winner Rory McIlroy (NIR) and Jim Furyk (USA) at the PLAYERS
Championship two weeks ago, will make his BMW International Open
debut. The 34-year-old is the first Venezuelan golfer to win on the
PGA TOUR and qualify for the Presidents Cup.

The hunt for the second German BMW International Open victory after
Kaymer’s 2008 win will be taken up by numerous other pros in addition
to the two-time majors winner. Veteran Alex Cejka and Munich native
Stephan Jäger – who learned his sport at GC München Eichenried – don’t
want to miss out on the iconic tournament and will travel from the
USA. Max Kieffer, who with good results on the European Tour
demonstrated a clear upward trend in form, will tee off in Munich, as
will Florian Fritsch, Bernd Ritthammer und Marcel Siem.

On Tuesday (practice rounds) and Wednesday (Pro-Am) entry is free,
for children and young people up to the age of 17, entry is free every
day. Anyone who turns up wearing traditional dress (Lederhosen or
Dirndl) on Thursday (20th June, Corpus Christi), will also
receive free entry.

Day tickets cost 15 euros (Thursday or Friday), at the weekend
tickets are 30 euros per day. A tournament ticket for every day of the
tournament is available for 75 euros. VIP tickets for the Fairway Club
are available for 275 euros (Thursday or Friday), 375 euros (Saturday
or Sunday) and 1,040 euros (tournament ticket Thursday to Sunday). All
ticket categories are available to order online:

The entry price includes a free shuttle service between Ismaning
train station and Golfclub München Eichenried (Thursday to Sunday) and
– weather permitting – free parking at the tournament site.