2017 Dakar Rally

Media Information

2017 Dakar Rally

14 Jan 2017


2017 Dakar Rally – Stage 11: San Juan – Rio Cuarto, 759 km


  • 3rd place theatre finish for Terranova
  • Al Rajhi completes Stage 11 in 5th
  • Top 5 in strech for Terranova as 2017 Dakar enters a final stage


Munich. The penultimate theatre of a 2017 Dakar took the
competitors to a silt dunes of San Juan to do conflict on a WRC-type
lane in a Cordoba region. It was a turf that seemed to suit
a character of motorist Orlando Terranova (ARG) as he continued to
sensitively swell by a ranks of a altogether standings with
another considerable theatre performance. The Argentinian motorist  and
co-driver Andreas Schulz (GER) crossed a finish line in
3rd in a #308 MINI John Cooper Works Rally automobile to
say 6th overall, within strech of a tip 5 finish
forward of a final theatre of this year’s event.


Terranova: “The commencement of a theatre was unequivocally tough – it was bumpy
and sandy – we attempted to pull yet it was difficult. We attempted in the
second half to pull some-more yet there was too most dirt from a quads
and bikes. Tomorrow we keep trying.”


Just dual places behind them reaching Rio Cuarto was Yazeed Al Rajhi
(KSA) and co-driver Timo Gottschalk (DEU) in a #306 MINI John Cooper
Works Rally car. The pairing finished a theatre in 5th to
pierce adult to 26th in a ubiquitous standings.*

Al Rajhi: “The initial partial of a theatre all was ok. On the
second partial we attempted to pull hard, we did it good and done no mistakes.”


Mikko Hirvonen (FIN) and Michel Perin (FRA) fared improved in a #303
MINI John Cooper Works Rally automobile for Stage 11. The pairing completed
a 759km usually outward a tip ten, in 11th, as a first
automobile in a review of 3 MINIs. They now lay in 13th overall.


Hirvonen: “Today was okay, it was improved than yesterday! The first
partial of a theatre was unequivocally terrible in a way, unequivocally rough and up
and down, yet a second partial was nice, unequivocally twisty and narrow. In
a final 100 km yet we were always in somebody’s dirt so we just
cruised to a finish.”


Just one place behind in 12th was a #322 MINI ALL4
RACING of Mohamed Abu Issa (QAT) and co-driver Xavier Panseri (FRA).
The pair’s plain opening saw them pierce into a tip 10 overall
with usually one turn remaining – conspicuous when we cruise that this
is Abu Issa’s initial Dakar in a automobile and a initial time a motorist and
co-driver have competed together.


Abu Issa: “It was a good day. The initial domain was 120km of sand,
that we like and we were usually a few seconds divided from 8th
and 9th; for me it was unequivocally good to come that tighten in a
stage. The second partial was WRC-style, so we was a small bit frightened to
be honest yet it was gratifying to see that we could still keep my pace
in a domain that I’m not informed with. we learnt a lot and this
is a theatre that done my rally.”


The third uninterrupted MINI to cranky a line in 13th was
a #316 MINI ALL4 Racing of Jakub Przygonski (POL) and Tom Colsoul
(BEL). They confirmed 7th in a ubiquitous standings.


Przygonski: “The second partial of currently was WRC-style and we were able
to pull and see that we had a speed. We enjoyed this stage, it was a
unequivocally good theatre to drive, utterly technical and a lot of corners but
it was good. We have usually one some-more day so we have to keep focused now.”


Sylvio de Barros (BR) and Rafael Capoani (BR) also finished the
theatre in 16th to pierce to 18th overall. Stephan
Schott (GER) and Paulo Fiuza (POR) will also start a final partial of
a Dakar after conquering Stage 11 in 21st to pierce to
15th in a standings.


Unfortunately, Boris Garafulic (CHL) and Filipe Palmeiro (POR) decide
to retire from a competition on a penultimate stage.


2017 Dakar Rally: MINI Family standings altogether after Stage 11.









Orlando Terranova

Andreas Schulz


X-raid Team




Jakub Przygonski

Tom Colsoul (BEL)






Mohamed Abu Issa

Xavier Panseri


X-raid Team




Mikko Hirvonen

Michel Périn (FRA)






Stephan Schott

Paulo Fiuza (POR)






Sylvio de Barros

Rafael Capoani (BR)






Yazeed Al Rajhi

Timo Gottschalk


X-raid Team



*subject to appeal